Clear or Delete Track Content

Hello, I would like to suggest a Clear Track / Delete Track Content function for the Aeros.

Why would this be useful?

For example, imagine I want to modify Track 1 which contains several overdub layers.

Because this track contains multiple overdub layers, the per-track basis undo function does not provide a single command to clear (audio and waveform) the entire track in one step.

I have currently found two unsatisfactory workarounds:

  • mute Track 1 and record a new track: this keep any other tracks untouched, but muted Track 1 deprives me of an additional available track;

  • hold the Play/Stop All button to clear the entire song, thereby losing all tracks: meaning I have to start recording all the tracks over again.

How could this be implemented?

The Clear Track / Delete Track Content function should be accessible directly from the Aeros interface, rather than being available only via MIDI. I do not use MIDI.

It should operate on the selected track only, leaving all other tracks untouched. Some existing commands in the Playing Slideout Menu and Stopped Slideout Menu, such as Lock Track, already operate on the selected track, so Clear Track / Delete Track Content could work in the same way.

What would this do?

This would clear the audio & waveform content of the selected track without deleting the track itself.

Other tracks would remain untouched. I could record new content in Track 1.

I think this would be a relatively simple but very useful workflow improvement for the Aeros.

Thank you!

1 Like

Thank you for sharing your recommendations. I’ve forwarded your feedback to our team for review and consideration.

1 Like

I’d love this feature too

2 Likes

Unless things have changed recently and the manual is lying, undo works on a per-track basis, not globally. You can just select Track 1 and send an undo command (cc37:0) to undo the last recording on that track, even if it is not the last thing recorded.

Related to this, or maybe it actually “is” this - you can undo an already “undid” track, if it was a track that’s been overdubbed on, which effectively deletes it, (like undoing a single layer track).

But you can’t do this via midi, which is really annoying, and I think an omission in the midi implementation?

It can only be done via the slide out menu (which can be brought up via midi, which is what I do), but it’s clunky cause it needs two presses (assuming you’ve saved “undo” for the menu to the top menu spot also…)

@riddled : thank you to remind that undo is on a per-track basis, not globally, it’s a good point.

But in my case if my track 1 (for example) was recorded with several overdubs (recordings)… undo “delete” only the last overdub in this track. I really suggest a clear function.

@Se7ent7 not sure to understand… do you simply talk about the ability to overwrite a track that was undid ? In this case, yes, the new recording erases the undid content. But it’s not my purpose. I really would love a clear track : no sound wave form anymore.

All the ways to undo on the Aeros Loop Studio: https://www.youtube.com/shorts/JikLAgcoAFY

Via MIDI:

CC:37 Undo / Redo Command Name Value Action
Undo/Redo Selected (Top layer) 0 Undo/Redo currently selected track’s top layer (6x6 mode)
Undo/Redo Track (Top layer) 1-6 Undo/Redo track’s top layer (track # = value #)

There used to be quite a few more undo MIDI commands, including ones to undo all layers. Some of them were buggy though. It looks to me as though Singular Sound has removed mention of them from the manual and Google doc, possibly because of the bugs. (They may still work albeit buggily in the current firmware–I’m using old firmware and haven’t checked.) I hope Singular Sound plans to fix any bugs and officially reimplement them, because the current MIDI undo functionality seems inadequate.

[Edit: I see you addressed this topic in the other ‘delete track’ thread.]

Hello everyone,

The topic of this thread is clearing/deleting the content of a track.

I think the discussion has strayed somewhat from the original topic and shifted towards the Undo function. However, UNDO doesn’t clear a track’s content (audio & waveform) in a single step.

Perhaps we could bring the discussion back to the Clear Track / Delete Track Content feature request, and leave discussions about UNDO and MIDI to the appropriate sections of the forum.

I have updated my original post accordingly.

Thank you!