How to? Audio connections: BeatBuddy + Aeros with PA system

Can a more experienced user(s) – paging @persist @Phil_Flood @Quad, @Euan @bsd @Guitartechnyc @AnthonySostre @BeatBuddy_Support et al. – please provide guidance on how best to connect my BeatBuddy pedal with my Aeros looper box to my PA system?

Such as: Which outputs? Which inputs? What type of cable (TS, TRS)? Please explain it like I’m a total noob :drooling_face:

Some relevant background notes are below.

Links to reference photos of the BeatBuddy and Aeros in’s/out’s, as well as the connections for the mixer and speakers, are below.

Thanks in advance for any help here!

FYI:

1 Like

Seems like you have three choices:

1. Aeros -> BB -> Speaker(s)
  2. BB -> (aux in) Aeros -> Speaker(s)
  3. Aeros -> Mixer, BB -> Mixer, Mixer -> Speaker(s)

The mixer should work the best with the PA, but it may not matter that much.

• Not sure about (#2) if the aux in on the Aeros is working, if that’s higher quality than your mixer or the BB’s “mixer”, or if the Aeros does A2D -> D2A on the aux input.
  • #3 will be the most flexible and you’ll have more control over the levels/mix. A no brainer if you’re going to add another channel of audio.
  • #1 and #2 have one less device, so that could be a benefit.

On the mixer, you could also experiment with inputs 13-16 versus 17-20 (stereo). Looks like you’d have more control with 13-16. I assume those take unbalanced (TS) line inputs. If you have long cable runs, you could try balanced inputs to the XLR with some form of DI, but not likely to make a difference.

Any of the above could be mono or stereo depending on your preference.
You can ignore the midi for now. It’s not going to matter to the audio.
Adjust your levels to avoid clipping. Looks like your mixer can help you with that.

2 Likes

Quad already gave your 3 basic options,

So to add briefly to his message, the Aux does work, though quality between it and the BB’s “mixer” should be no different.