BASIC HELP NEEDED

Hi
I’m totally new to Midi and Beat Buddy so please make allowances if my questions don’t make much sense
This is my first attempt so I’m learning as I go

I have a midi file (not created by me) which sounds OK

I’ve tried to add this to Beat Buddy but have 2 problems

1. There is a Bass Drum and Bass guitar on different channels on 36 (C2). Can both sounds be played by Beat Buddy?
    On a version (not attached) I tried to move the drum to 30 (Gb1) but that didnt work at all well and changed the sound of the organ!
  2. On the Beat Buddy version the organ keeps disappearing. I dont know if the midi command isnt being recognised or the volume reducing to zero or something else.

Any help/ advice would be greatly appreciated

Hi Glenn! Welcome to the Beat Buddy Rodeo!

The way the BB works is it plays a MIDI file (a “part”) through a MIDI instrument. In most cases, the instrument is a drumset, resulting in – you guessed it – drums. But there are a number of kits here on the site built out by users that also add bass notes to the kit so that your Beat Buddy can play bass at a rudimentary level as well.

Now, you have stumbled across the concept of channels within a MIDI file. Each channel is effectively a keyboard with a full set of (I believe) 88 notes. The things you have called channels (“36 (C2)”) are actually notes on a given channel. General MIDI (GM) files can have multiple channels to which different musical voices are assigned. As far as I can tell, the Beat Buddy only plays Channel 10, the channel reserved for drums. For example (and working from memory), Note 36 (C2) on Channel 10 is assigned to the main kick drum, 38 (D2) is the Snare, and so on. That brings up two things that answer your questions (I think):
[LIST=1]