BeatBuddy and Garageband > midi settings or DAW limitation?

I am new to BeatBuddy, GarageBand and midi interfaces and I am running into some issues that I have not been able to work through.

I have a new BeatBuddy attached to an i-connectivity mio interface cable that is being seen by my MacMini_M2 (under Ventura 13.3) and I think it is working properly as long as I am only trying to record one midi track at a time. The issue I have is that I also have a keyboard connected (direct via usb) and when I try to record Beatbuddy and keyboard simultaneously, GarageBand doesn’t seem to want to separate the two instruments…… it will record both instruments on a single track but it either won’t play both sounds back at once and/or the keyboard wants to play Beat buddy rhythms along with notes

I am a total midi novice so I kind of guessed at the beat buddy settings when setting this up so I am wondering if there is setting option I am missing….and/or if there is a switch/setting in GarageBand I am missing (or maybe even some limitation in GarageBand?)

I’ve been all over Google as well as this Board and I can’t seem to find what I am looking for. Can someone help me out?

I take it that you are trying to record midi from your BB and your keyboard simultaneously. To do this, first go into Audio Midi Setup. Its an app in your Appilcation>Utilities folder. Select the midi section, and verify that iConnectivity Cable/Beat Buddy and the Keyboard are both listed as midi items. Click on of them and then click on the computer icon in audio midi setup. Do this for the other one. You should see a system now that appears to have both devices connected to the Mac.