Best way to record with BB

I just bought logic pro, and I am new to recording, so here are some options I have seen so far, there is Drum loops, Drum samples inside Logic, and then there are the midi files from inside the BB Library also can be inserted into the Logic, but all have to be programmed before you play the guitar, with places preset with the drums rolls, fills and accents, on a more programmed style.
So I am wondering if any of you plug your beat buddy into an interface, and record like you play the BB, recording the BB and the guitar at the same time? I have in my mind that this way it becomes a more natural feel to the music than a pre-programmed version punched in the DAW?
I assume the drawback of this technic would be that the recording becomes more difficult to edit with the DAW?
Should I do it in stereo? any advice are welcome :grinning:

If you have enough input channels in your interface, sure, you can record the BB, your guitar, etc, in real time. Otherwise, with most budget interface you build your arrangement up a track at a time. Record your BB, then record your guitar playing to the BB, then vocals, etc. My best advice is to look up some audio editing in Logic videos on YouTube. You can manipulate quite a bit of your audio after recording to make it sound “tight.” Search for “flex pitch” and “flex time.”

2 Likes

I’ve been using both the Mini and the Beat Buddy for recording, you can go stereo with the Beat Buddy using 2 channels, Mono works fine for the level I’m at as I record demos of my original music, at times I may get a live drummer to do the drum tracks but still using the BB as a reference as to what I want.

Here is a tip and a bit headache saver, once you pick the tempo/speed of your song, match the setting on the tempo of your recording software, most of all the DAWs work in a similar way, I prefer Reaper out of the ones I have and tried. So if you decide to set BB at 100bp, set the bpm on your Logic to 100.