Brand New BeatBuddy Mini - Drifting tempo?!

Hi!

I love the idea of the BeatBuddy Mini, and it’s great fun to jam along with. However, I noticed that if I play with a metronome the BeatBuddy Mini’s tempo drifts… the problem is, if I want to play it with a fixed-tempo looper (e.g set the looper to 100bpm and the BeatBuddy Mini to 100bpm)… it goes out of sync fast. It seems like the BeatBuddy Mini doesn’t quite hold tempo properly!

Here’s a video to show what I mean:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/app0vrizl0h38hw/IMG_3266.mov?dl=0

And another to show that when set at 96bpm it’s playing very close to (but maybe not quite) 100bpm:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2ofcsj59atrk3mk/IMG_3267.mov?dl=0

Is there anything I can do? Unfortunately the tempo drift in the BeatBuddy Mini makes it a little unusable for my purposes :frowning:

Thanks, hopefully there’s something silly I’m doing wrong!

Hi, I’m new to the beatbuddy mini, but I don’t think that it’s you as I found the same thing, it does not keep perfect time, it maybe something to do with the fact that these are real sounds and there may be some latency? we’ll have to put that question to the technical staff here.

So I got a bit antsy and bought the ‘full’ BeatBuddy. It doesn’t have the same problem - in fact, the full BeatBuddy is ‘bang on’ in terms of timing, tempo, everything. If I set the full BeatBuddy to ‘trigger on press’ (an option the BeatBuddy Mini also lacks), I can also get a perfectly timed loop with my JamMan Solo XT super easily by just hitting the buttons at the same time.

Here’s a video of the BeatBuddy AND BeatBuddy Midi running at the same time, same beat, same tempo to illustrate the problem further:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k025hantx99w2kl/IMG_3276.m4v?dl=0

I did contact the Singular Sound team by email and on facebook, haven’t heard anything back yet regarding the issue. I’m hoping it’s just a bad batch or something and they can get it sorted now that they’re aware of the problem.