Can I connect my BB to a Yamaha 515 digital keyboard?

Can I connect my BB to a Yamaha 515 keyboard with Midi?

It’ll connect, but what are you wanting to be able to do, if you have that connection?

My keyboard has limited drum patterns. Very basic. Ideally, I would like to use BeatBuddy drum pattern library. Is that possible?

If what you mean is that you would like the BB to play the drum sounds in the Yamaha, yes that can be done. If you just want use the BB’s drum patterns and it’s sounds, you don’t need midi.

Great. I assume just connect using regular inputs. Thank you.

You’ll need the BB midi breakout cable from Singular, and then a regular 5 pin midi cable.

1 Like

Correct, the BeatBuddy uses a PS/2 port and requires a MIDI breakout cable to work with standard MIDI cables, we sell the Breakout cable here.

Was this the connection you were referring to?

Thanks for your help Brennan. Yes, I guess that’s the connection I was referring to. I’m new at this stuff. If the connection hooks the BB to the back of my Yamaha 515 keyboard, that’s the one.

Does the BB become a slave to the Yamaha? For example, I can run all the options of the BB through the keyboard?

Rod

If you want the BB drum files to trigger the sounds in the Yamaha, then the 5 pin cable goes from the midi out on the breakout cable to the midi in on your Yamaha. You’ll have to make the settings in the BB to have it act as a Master, and you’ll be sending both tempo and notes.

On the other hand, if you want the Yamaha to trigger the BB’s sound but the rhythms are coming from the Yamaha, then you’ll connect the 5 pin cable from the midi out on the Yamaha to the midi in on the BB breakout cable. You’ll have to make the settings in the BB to have be a SLAVE, and have it receive notes.

Saw the cable you’re referring to. I’ll also need another cable that will allow me to have the BB on the floor so I can access the foot options, correct? Do you also have that cable?