Connecting Aeros to Mixer - Cables, which outputs, inputs?

Hello,

I’m wondering how to connect my Midas MR18 digital mixer to my Aeros/MIDI Maestro combo. Bear with me because I am new at this. If it is more appropriate to DM me go ahead. I am thinking I have to use an aux send on the Midas to the inputs on the Aeros. Then run an Aeros out to a channel in on the Midas. This gives the ability to use lots of different instruments.

I’ve got plenty of open input channels and aux outs on the Midas if it is best to go in/out on two channels for a stereo affect. I am prepared to buy different types of cables in various lengths to make it work. I set everything up on the headphone out using the cables I have but I guess in my mind the aux outs would work better? Need the XLR female to 1/4 somehow though.

Anyway…Let me know what you guys think and feel free to ask clarifying questions. Thanks.

Robbie

Hi, you can easily set up the Aeros with a mixer in this fashion:

Basically the Mixer has to have all instruments connected to it, and then the mix of those instruments has to be sent to the Aeros to be sent back from the Aeros into the channels of the Mixer. Be careful not to cause a feedback loop! Do not route the Aeros playback back into the Aeros inputs. Your ears will thank you for avoiding this.

I would suggest not using Return inputs, but this is possible. The reason I do not suggest this is because this is meant for effects so it usually has a Dry/Wet knob involved and then your digital effects (if your mixer has any) may not be present in the Aeros loops.

Make sure the Mixer also sends in stereo not in mono if using the Sends. I have a mixer that has an additional 3-4 Output that uses unbalanced 1/4in outs. Use the regular input channels like you mention to return the signal to the mixer.

Your send levels on each channel decides how loud the track will be on the Aeros itself.