DAW cotrol of Beatbuddy

I have scoured all sources of information I can think of to see if I can control my be buddy with cakewalk. It would be great to automate some of my foot work by using my DAW to step through intros, song parts, fills, etc. I understand the MIDI cc commands that I need to put into BB but I can’t figure out how to make cakewalk issue those commands. Sounds like BB instrument definitions might help here but I’m not a MIDI expert. Has anyone by chance built cakewalk instrument definitions for BB?

1 Like

I use CC’s to control the Beatbuddy with Cakewalk all the time. To start, open the preferences. Make sure the Beatbuddy is recognized. Go to the section under PROJECT and check the option for “Transmit MIDI Start/Continue/Stop/Clock” and check the appropriate port under “MIDI Sync Output ports” for the BeatBuddy. This will send all the commands to the BeatBuddy. To enter the CC’s, create a MIDI Track for the Beatbuddy and configure it for the the Beatbuddy - Output/Input Channels. Then make sure on the MIDI channel strip you set the correct MIDI channel, Bank (this is set at 1 less than the Beatbuddy folder (example 2. Blues for example would be set at 1) and the patch would be the appropriate beat in that folder. This sets any preload beat. Now to enter the CC’s, open the Event List for the Beatbuddy MIDI track, and enter the information. As an example, click on the + (top left of Event List window), will add an event. Adjust the TIME (HMSF) for the measure and beat to send the command, double click on the entry for KIND to bring up the selection box for the type of event, select CONTROLLER. click on the DATA and enter the CC (example 108 to set the volume) and then the last column (mine isn’t labeled) anter the CC value (example to set the volume at 50%, enter 50). There is a document available here (search MIDI Implementation for it), this lists all the CC’s you can use. Works well for me. Any questions, just let me know…