Drag articulation for Modern Classic snare

Greetings!

I’m a drummer and recently acquired a BeatBuddy to use as a drum module. I’m not using it with any of the included song or beat material, just as a drum brain triggered live by my Zendrum ZX2. I LOVE it! The extreme sensitivity of the Zendrum pads and the subtle nuances provided by the excellent BB drum sets make for a very realistic interpretation of playing a live drum set. IMO, It sounds and plays better than many of the high end drum modules I’ve used—and in pedal format! And I also love that I can easily create velocity-layered drum kits from my own samples and recordings (with round robin groups!). To that end…

I’ve mostly been using the Modern Classic kit I purchased. I really like how it sounds. But one thing I find missing for live playing is a drag articulation for the snare. So I made my own! I took the 4 middle velocity layer samples from the Modern Classic snare and set them up in my daw as a round robin group in a sampler. Then I created a “drag” midi clip with four quickly triggered notes with decreasing velocity (and a bit of velocity randomness). I recorded several clips using this process and picked three that sounded similar enough but also varied enough to work well. Now I had my drag samples!

I added an instrument to the drum set in the BB Manager, added the three samples to it, and set them all up for the full velocity range (albeit with a volume setting of -17db because I normalized the clips when I exported them). It worked great! I can even sort of simulate a roll if I set the instrument to have a polyphony of 2 and trigger it with 1/16 notes, though sometimes I can hear a little bit of phasing during a roll. I plan to try it again and add a little more velocity and/or timing randomness to see if I can eliminate the phasing issue (if anyone has tips on eliminating the phasing, please share!).