Expression pedal interface: wiring, resistance, taper?

The question is mostly for SS (@BeatBuddy_Support), but others can contribute by telling which models you got working with MM and what are the (three) specs of the exp pedal? See more below.

My knowledge of expression pedals is mostly from this page + I studied a year of electronics in university.

I’m interested in the three aspects:

1. What wiring is the MM expecting?

Based on other discussions on this forum a TRS plug is to be used. But is the wiper in ring or tip? And how does clockwise and counter clockwise connect to the tip (or ring) and sleeve? If calibration can reverse the order of min/max (toe/heel) then CW and CCW don’t matter, only the wiper matters.

1. Does it matter which internal resistance the exp pedal has?

I’m sure the calibration gives some pedal options, at least for pedals in the same ballpark. But is it from 5k Ohm to 50K Ohm? What are the limits of resistance that MM supports?

1. Linear or logarithmic taper?

I’m hoping a linear works with MM, but does it?

The reason why I want to go deep is that I’m trying to see if I can use the same exp pedal with HX Stomp, with minimal re-wiring (or no wiring at all). Stomp uses a TS pedal, but TRS is easy to rewire to TS. Note: I don’t have any exp pedal currently.

Thanks in advance!

FWIW… I took apart my Roland EV-5 Expression pedal to trace out the wiring (not a clue if this works with the Maestro. Suspect it would). I measured the potentiometer values as there were no markings on them. For how it works I don’t think the value of the main potentiometer is too critical as all it does is function as a voltage divider to the voltage applied across the ends of the pot. I don’t know if the pots are linear or log, but would suspect linear.