Getting Aeros to playback on next beat

Hi – I’m relatively new to the Aeros Loop Studio, but I’ve read the manuals and browsed this forum, and still not found a solution.

I’m using the Loop Studio with a Helix Floor, where the Helix is controlling the tempo via MIDI out. I can record without issue – the looper will start the recording “on” the beat, correctly, and the loop will play in time with beat-sync’d effects on the Helix.

The issue is after I stop the Loop Studio, and start it again. I would expect the loop to start right at the next beat following when I press the play-stop button (similar to clip-playback in Ableton Live), but this is not the case. Instead, the loop starts playing right when I hit the button, which means my timing has to be perfect, in order for the re-started loop to sync-up w/ the beat-synced effects happening on the Helix.

What am I missing?

2 Likes

There is definitely something wrong with the MIDI sync being sent by the HX stomp, the problem seems to be that the Aeros is not marking the 1 of the measure as it should, which could be related to a change in the clock stream from the HX, have you done a search of the forum? Likely there has been another person with your issue. Does the Aeros say MIDI sync ON onscreen even when stopped?

Let me know! Thanks

Also please verify you are on latest v3.4.2 for Aeros, thanks!

Not yet on 3.4.2 – still on 3.3.x. I’l try that.

The Aeros always says MIDI sync is “on”…unless I just completely disable the clock out, from the Helix Floor (not Stomp, btw – although they have a nearly identical MIDI implementation).

I’ve definitely searched the forum…but there’s a bit of an issue w/ recall vs specificity…if I make the search terms too specific, I get nothing relevant, and too broad, too many results to wade through.