How do I go about building my own beats from midi files online

Hi I am new to Beatbuddy and the forum so maybe this query has been answered elsewhere but here goes…I want to build my own beats for particular songs. I am not a drummer so starting from scratch probably isn’t the best way. I was thinking I could find a suitable midi file for a song online, download it, select just the drum track and break it up into individual parts for main drum loop, drum fills, transitions etc. Then i would create a new song using the beatbuddy manager. Is there any tutorials on how would be the best way to go about this? What would be the best software to use, ive been playing around with Ableton Live 9 for a few days but I cant make head nor tail of it. I would really appreciate any help or advice. Thanks!

There are several tutorials available from the forum and while they are not for Ableton they might help get you started. I will try to outline some general principles later in the week and will post them here to help you smooth the learning curve. Right now I’m watching the Chiefs and Texans :wink:

General techniques (for transcribing drums from MIDI source files to the BeatBuddy (BB))

• The BB drums for the most part follow General MIDI standards but there are some exceptions that if you know and take into consideration as you transcribe MIDI source files into beats or songs for the BB, will save you time and frustration.
  • Download and use the Ableton user manual; focus on the MIDI section (chapter 10 of the manual at this link Credits — Ableton Reference Manual Version 11 | Ableton )
  • There are several files on the forum that can help you with proper placement of the MIDI drum notes; here’s one: GM1 & GM2 MIDI.pdf (19.6 KB)
  • The MIDI notes for the BB Latin kit are different than the default kits.
  • The premium Standard Pro drum set has a much more robust complement of drum instruments.
  • The Export to MIDI . . . in the BBM is buggy so best not to use it.