Is It Possible to develop an IPAD app?

Technical Support, Forum Users, Software and/or App developers,

I’m an old dog. It’s tough learning new tricks but I have had plenty of experience as a one man band. I love drum machines and the one that worked really well for me for nearly 2 decades at my live shows is a Korg KR 55 (I bought it brand new). The reason it worked so well is it had many presets, was very flexible and I could change settings on the fly, because I set it directly within reach of my right hand. My shows moved very fluidly whether it was a written out set list or spontaneously.

I love the Beat Buddy but I am unable to duplicate (at this point) the shows I used to do with my Korg. Oh and I’m a Macbook user. You understand my frustration now.

Nowadays, I use an Ipad with the Onsong App and I figured out the settings for the beat buddy and list the settings with each song. Thank you to the folks listing songs! The problem is I have to bend down and search for and set the next beat and tempo for every song. I don’t mind having to scroll to the beat I want and set the tempo but the bending down is killing my back and my show!

IS IT POSSIBLE to develop an App that has the controls available on the face of the pedal for Ipad? Maybe it could be connected through the USB or Midi ports? Or could I somehow connect a midi controller to either preset or scroll to the beat I want?

Thanking you all in advance!

1 Like

A possibility with Onsong to have Onsong send a MIDI message out to Beat Buddy each time you select a new song. A feature I have requested is a change to BB to have it respond to a MIDI song selection.

Given the power of Onsong to organize songs this would make BB control very easy. You could jump around in Onsong selecting and searching songs with ease, the BB would get the message. It also makes BB practical to operate as one pedal, no footswitch needed.