Long time Alesis SR16 user

I have been using the SR16 for years and have tried many other drum machines over the years but always returned to the sr16. I recently bought a BB and switch combo. I’ve updated the firmware and loving BBmanager although I don’t find it’s very intuitive you have great tutorials available.

Finally my question…

I have several songs tailored to SR16 rhythms and fills that I just cannot give up. Is there any way for me to load these onto the BBuddy so I don’t have to bring both drummers to a gig?

If they are in the MIDI format and mapped to the standard drum map, then yes. You’d have to import them via the BBManager. :slight_smile:

Great! That gives me hope but I know nothing about midi and I’m new to BBuddy. I do have the cables to transfer sysex data to and from the SR16 but have no idea how that translates to midi? Alesis’s website is no help at all…
So do I need to immerse myself in yet another technology to do a simple transfer?

The shortest answer would be - yes :slight_smile:

If anybody is interested in doing this I’d be happy to pay, I have no desire to learn something that will not likely be used in the future…

Try this link: http://www.noterepeat.com/products/alesis/sr-16/49-saving-and-sending-sysex-data-to-the-alesis-sr-16

The problem with the SR16 is the midi out is for backup only from what I see. Original content and user created content are backed up in one large file. It is not possible to export single patterns. The sr16 assigned beats have two alternating patterns with 2 associated fills for transitioning back and forth. I have spent tons of money trying to get off the sr16 because I hate most of the drum sounds but the rhythms and fills are exquisite to this day and the simple logic of an 8 count pattern with a 8 count fill means you are always in time even if you miss the que for a fill. There’s a reason they still sell tons of 'em 24 years on…They are SUPER easy to use!