Mac Audio Midi Setup not seeing BB

Total newbie question - new to midi and BB…

My Mac Audio midi setup is recognizing both a synth and a usb midi interface… but, not BB. I have tried connecting BB via synth and usb midi interface, have changed midi cables twice, clicked refresh, restarted midi setup, computer and BB and tried all three usb ports on computer. Yes I searched the forums…likely my question is too basic. Thanks in advance.

What is the next step please?

Signal path - mac usb out - behringer motor49/usb midi interface - BB in (breakout cable)
BB v 2.0.4
midi in - omni
midi out - ch1
os 10.12.6
macbook pro 17" intel core i7

Want do you want to do via midi?

Interface with Logic and my Voodoolab Ground Control. Getting connected period is first priority…

OK - I’ve got it connected. Didn’t realize I needed to manually create the device in the midi setup. The setup had previously autogenerated the other devices, hence my blindness to the obvious. Thank-you.

That’s not really so obvious. When a device has you load a midi driver for Mac, like many Roland devices, those devices auto detect. But when you connect using standard midi cables to an interface, the interface auto detects, since its likely going to be a USB or Firewire device, and the midi connected devices are left for you to set up on your own. It’s kinda of a pain, but it does preserve the usefulness of legacy devices that no longer get USB driver updates from their manufacturer, or, like the Beat Buddy, a device that never had a midi USB driver in the first place.

Thank-you. I was rather proud for sticking with it to success. I’m a video editor so have some experience troubleshooting. Haven’t noticed any weird mismatches with parts (after importing to Logic) and am a bit daunted at the prospect of reassigning them. Is this still an issue ?