MIDI / BB / VL3 / Arduino Remote - (programming help)

STOP and read first line at least!!! Not Spam, not trolling. Some educational/marketing click bait totally relevant to the thread.

TLDR scroll down to (bottom):

for my eventual question.

I’m new to MIDI so I’m experimenting. Now that BeatBuddy takes MIDI INPUT with it’s latest firmware, it’s essentially one of the most awesomely powerful digital MIDI devices on the market.

Anyhow, I got to thinking, in theory, since the BeatBuddy understands “some” MIDI messages, I can plug in a single cable and I’ll instantly have a way to interface with all it’s functions, remotely, with just about any other MIDI capable device in the world, including but not limited to, guitar pedals, phones, keyboards, computers, watches, and light bulbs.

In short, I said, “theory”, for a reason. It turns out there is an international MIDI standard, that all hardware manufactures try to adhere to, when building products. That’s only partly true. Then there is the software side, which is also supposed to adhere to “The standard”. What I’ve discovered after researching and playing with MIDI guitar stuff, is that designers, both hardware and software, all have their own MIDI dialect and interpretation of “The Standard”.

The problem with that is, in Digital World, where most musicians now frequent on a daily basis, the entire population of said world only understands the dialect spoken by other Digital World people. Consequently, even if the dialect is exactly the same (never happens), there is still room for interpretation issues, and often times, nobody understands anything and nothing gets done.

Ok, that last bit wasn’t entirely true. The DW people have what they call translators. They listen to commands spoken by tourists, and then the translators speak the commands to the DW people, who can now understand those commands perfectly [insert laughter]. The process also works in reverse just as efficiently [louder laughter].