Midi files from Logic

I am fairly new to Beat Buddy, still exploring …
I have made a few midi-tracks in Logic - but:
how do I keep the velocity settings when importing midi into Beat Buddy Manager?
how do I make Beat Buddy Manager handle beats with odd measures?
(Beat Buddy Manager adds extra beats/bars to make totals dividable by 4 or 8)

The velocity settings should just come along with the midi file. If you have you drum track as a logic midi file, Just use export track as midi file, and the velocity comes along with the track.

Odd measures - The simplest approach is to change the time signature for the entire song after you have completed the song. This will impact the visual metronome. For example, I just did The Beatles “Yer Blues.” As written, it is 12/8, with a change to 6/8, then 8/8 and back to 12/8. It also has a break section in 4/4. It did the song as a One Press. After completing the song, I deleted all time signature changes, and left it as 12/8 for the entire song. In the final measure, I made sure I dragged the last drum hit to show as ending at the end of the measure. This keeps BB Manager from inserting space at the beginning of the song. Yes, that’s weird. Open space at the end gets sent to the front. But, If I didn’t want to do that, Option 2 would have been to change the time signature to 2/8. Then, again, the visual metronome would be useless, but everything would fall where it is supposed to. The BB does not add beats/bars to make a song divisible by 8 or 4. It adds beats to make the song divisible by the initial time signature of the song. Sometimes, the easiest approach is to change the time signature to 1/8 or 1/4, particularly is you have a mix of even and odd numbers or beats per measure. you wind up having to ignore the visual metronome, but the song works. And, of course, if it is a multi-part song, then you have to be able to make you changes in one beat, which could require some practice.

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply