Midi foot controller and looper at the same time?

Sorry if this has been covered here already, but is it possible to use a midi foot controller and looper at the same time? i.e. Have the looper (pigtronix infinity) contolled by the beatbuddy, and the beatbuddy controlled by the footpedal? if so what cabling arrangements are required? I’m new to beatbuddy, so pardon my ignorance!

Yes. The pathway would be Midi foot controller > BB Midi in cable connection> BB > BB Midi out Cable connection > Looper.

You would best be advised to have the BB and the Looper set to separate midi in channels. BB would be configured bothe to accept midi in and send midi out. Lets say the BB in is midi channel 1 and the looper in is midi channel 2. The foot controller would be set to send on Channel 1 to control just the BB. The BB midi out channel is set to channel 2. When it send a midi signal it is received by the looper. Note that this is not referencing the BB External pedal, which does not provide a means to send channeled midi signals. You would need something like the Behringer FCB 1010, or the Singular Midi Maestro, if it ever gets released.

Thanks for the detailed answer! I’m considering the MeloAudio MIDI Commander foot pedal. It seems to have decent reviews.

I am not familiar with that unit. I’ve looked at the manual, and it does not seem to send PC messages as I would expect it to. It does send CC messages through the full 127 range.

If you want to be able to control tempo, you want to be sure that the controller can send the MSB/LSB messages in the format expected by the BB.