MIDI Mapping for DAW

I have very little experience with MIDI and DAW so this might be a stupid question.

Quite a few of the user generated drum files include bass / keyboards/ brass, is it possible to have a DAW plugin which re-maps the DAW to positions used by BeatBuddy for playback?

At the moment it seems like, for example, a bass line has to be dropped two octaves in a DAW for it to be read by BB. Obviously, this sounds really bad when played in DAW. I often can’t figure where brass sections have to be moved to.

The reason I ask is that some of the excellent songs which have been submitted need to be changed to keys to match the limitations of my vocal range. As well as making songs easier to play on guitar.

So a secondary question is - how do you change the key of sng files ?

Any comments/ help
Thanks

Alan

• Most of Phil Flood’s kits have a MIDI mapping file that accompanies the kits he posts.
  • You could probably find a plug-in for your digital audio workstation (DAW) but after a while, transposing becomes almost a part of ingrained memory.
  • Depending on the kit used determines the number of octaves raised or lowered. For example, NP StdPBass 63-91 would require raising the bass 3 octaves; Phil Flood’s kits require lowering the bass by 2 octaves. Hint: once I raise or lower the bass notes, I don’t listen to them on my DAW. I do verify that the bass notes fall in the range of the type kit I’m using though.
  • When transcribing the bass notes, I first make the rough pass which is to raise or lower the bass the required number of octaves; once done, and when required, I’ll transpose to get it in the preferred key (raise or lower the required number of steps). I usually try to transcribe the song as performed originally and include the non-edited MIDI source file that I used.
  • I use Logic Pro X and a rule of thumb that works for me for instruments other than bass (and especially for Phil Flood’s kits) is:
    • piano fits C3 - C6 range