MIDI sync doesn't work on Mac with Ableton

I’m new with the Beat Buddy, mainly a Mac user. Still no editor for the Mac, pretty lame! And the latest firmware gives me no midi messages received still in Ableton I’ve tried everything, and I know I’ve got it hooked up right. Please help, what am I doing wrong, usually MIDI just works, any ideas anybody??

I’ve never used Ableton. But video in my signature definitely shows, that BeatBuddy’s MIDI sync does pretty much “just work”. In my video, BB is MIDI Master, and Boomerang III is MIDI Slave.

So. What is your problem again? What exactly have you tried, what do you expect to happen and what happens instead?

I want to use Ableton as the master and the BB as the slave, I just have the MIDI sync in/out connected to my focusrite saffire pro 40, midi in/out. So basically, I want to listen for midi messages coming from the MIDI sync on the BB, but I see no MIDI data being transferred through, hook up you BB to any audio interface card with midi, and you see what I’m talking about, seems like a pretty basic feature that the BB needs.

I am almost sure BeatBuddy is able to do what you are describing.

In order to make that happen, double check the “polarity” of your MIDI cables connected. MIDI Out of your computer sound card should go to MIDI In of your BeatBuddy, then MIDI Out of BeatBuddy - to MIDI In of your focusrite saffire pro 40.

If you made sure everything is connected correctly but you are still having issues, please try switch places of your devices: MIDI Out of your computer sound card > MIDI In of saffire, then MIDI Out of saffire > MIDI In of BeatBuddy.

Please report back the results!