Midi Sync with Line6 M5?

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to the world of MIDI…so I’m not sure if my desired setup is possible…but I thought I’d at least ask! : )

I’m attempting to use my BeatBuddy in conjunction with my Line 6 M5 guitar pedal, so that no matter what “Tempo” I select with the BeatBuddy…my Line 6 Delay/Echo effects will be updated in “Time”. Does that make sense?

I’m using the BeatBuddy as the master MIDI timecode device. I’ve connected the Line 6 M5 pedal to the BeatBuddy, via the BeatBuddy MIDI breakout cable. The MIDI is coming “Out” of the BeatBuddy and “IN” to the M5 pedal. However, when I adjust the tempo on the BeatBuddy, the desired effect (delay/echo) on the M5 doesn’t change?

Is this possible or am I just doing something wrong? My BeatBuddy is brand new, out of the box…and my M5 is still on factory default settings.

Thanks for the help…!! On another note, I absolutely love the BeatBuddy…practice/rehearsals have never been so much fun. : )

It is probably your Line 6 settings, consult your manual. On the BB,just press and hold Drum and Tempo and down arrow to Main Pedal on the settings press Tempo, then arrow down to Midi Messages hit tempo, arrow to BeatBuddy press Tempo and make sure Midi -Out is selected.

Yes I have a M9 and I have been doing for a long time. So nice to not have to set delays by hand or to even tap tempo. However, you can tap tempo into MBB and it works to set tempo on Line 6 M9 also. You need to set the time setting in the global tempo setting area for omni I think. It has been a long time since I synch’d it. If you get stuck let me know and i can look at my settings area

Thanks for the info, all…I’ll give these suggestions a try and will report back…!

Thanks for all of the help ScottyMac and emacnevin…I got it working!

Awesome can you remind me what you did since I have forgotten. : )