MIDI-Sync with Voicelive 3 Extreme won't work

HI all!

I’m new to using BeatBuddy and trying to achieve something pretty standard for two days now: The BB tempo shall be automatically synced to my TC-Helicon VoiceLive 3 Extreme.

I bought the official MIDI breakout-cable, connected the BB-MIDI-Out to the VL3X-MIDI-In, checked the settings on both devices a hundred times, according to manuals and tutorial videos, but still the devices won’t talk to each other. At first I tried BB firmware 4.1.0, later downgraded to 4.0.1, but that didn’t make a difference.

Obviously the BB-MIDI-settings have become much more complex over time, and so I’m looking for anybody who successfully brought this sync to work and can share their settings with me. I’m happy with any hints.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Not familiar with the MIDI settings ob the VL3X, but I/we still might be able to help. We’ll need more info:

• Which device is the timing master?
  • What channel are each of the devices on?
  • do you want them talking to each other, or do you want one driving the other?
  • What are you trying to get the devices to do?

More info might mean more help.

Hi, my BB & VL3x are packed away at the moment so can’t check exact set up but after my initial struggle I’ve had these syncing ok for ages. I followed this video to set Temp on BB so VL3x will follow….

Hope that helps. If you’re still struggling I’ll check back when my equipments set up again.

1 Like

Hey, thanks for your reply.

For starters I had planned to make the BB the master (one-way-communication). Both devices are set to channel 1, but I also tried switching to channel 2. The only thing I want to achieve is to automatically match the FX-parameters (e.g. delay times) to the BeatBuddy‘s BPM.

Hey Carl,

Thanks for your reply. I know this video and tried to follow the exact steps. But the guy in the video must be using an older BB firmware, so I could not find the options he showed.