MM Chain - Aeros, BeatBuddy, Strymon Bigsky, & OnSong

Hi all,

First off, I’d like to state that I am new to MIDI and have A TON of reading in my near future to wrap my feeble mind around its complexity. So, please forgive my ignorance, but I thought I’d start with the experts to walkthrough what it is I want to do with my MM and save me some initial headache.

Like many of you, I own the MM, BeatBuddy, and Aeros. I also own a Strymon BigSky and utilize OnSong and an iPad. At this point, understanding many more questions will likely be generated as I start to dig in, I want to focus on the simple. Here, at this stage, is what I’d like to do. Please let me know if I’m thinking through this incorrectly.

1. MM
    A. Control OnSong - Page Turning/Scrolling (for now)
    a. Can this be done? Yes or No
    b. If Yes - Do you use MM buttons or can you use Footswitch+ connected into MM?
    c. I presume the MM would be the “Master” and I’d go MM MIDI Out to the iPad MIDI In? I’d like
    to do a physical connection here, not just Bluetooth. What hardware do you recommend for
    that (e.g., Camera Connection Kit?)
  2. iPad/OnSong
    A. Control BeatBuddy
    a. When I select a song in OnSong, I’d like it to pull up in BeatBuddy.
    b. I presume I’d go MIDI Out from the iPad to BeatBuddy MIDI In (using Breakout Cable)? Thus,
    the hardware I envision for the iPad plugs into the lightning port and has a MIDI In and a MIDI
    Out
    B. Control Strymon Bigsky
    a. Similar to 2A above, when I select a song in OnSong, it would be cool if the reverb settings
    would change. Is this even possible or should I consider controlling the Bigsky with the MM?
    b. If possible, since I imagine there would be one MIDI Out from the iPad would I need to run it
    into a splitter and split one line to the BeatBuddy and another to the Bigsky?

So, here’s the chain possibilities that I can envision.