My BB Story.. How BeatBuddy replaced my RC-300

This is going to be a lengthy post, you’ve been warned lol I wrote this last friday (exactly a week after i received the BB) but didn’t get to post it so here it is.

So while I’ve been playing in top 40 cover bands over the years, about 3 years ago i started being asked to do acoustic shows with singers who needed fill-ins. I’ve been using a Fractal AX8 for electric guitar so i started using it but i wanted to have a smaller rig so i picked up a Boss AD-10 because it has a looper and started getting into looping more than before.

As I started getting good at looping the singers i was working with started noticing how much “fuller” the sound was with the extra percussion i would do on guitar and looped thru the songs, so i figured it was time to find a unit with more looping features. I’m one of those guys that prefers getting a really good piece of gear that i can dive in deep (i’m a programmer by the way) and squeeze the juice out of it so i ended up with a VoiceLive 3 Extreme having tons of effects, great looping and even vocal effects.

The VLX was great except for the fact that i had 3 of them die on me within a few weeks (i think the SD was getting corrupted or at least that’s that i was told on the forums because i was adding tons of pre-recorded percussion tracks). Long Story short after the 3rd VLX went bad I ended up going with a recommendation to get the RC-300 so I went with it.

I got used to the RC-300 right away and fell in love with it. I would set up Preset 1 as my live looping preset and then every other preset was specific to certain songs where i wanted a backing loop. I would make my loops on logic using the built in instruments and they would usually be a VERSE, CHORUS & BRIDGE/LEAD and I would setup the RC-300 to have the tracks in SERIES (Single Track) and to start each loop at the end of the curren’t loop.