My latest original recording with a BeatBuddy drum track

I recorded this song rather hastily. So hasty that I forgot to re-enable the drum intro. Oh, well. The 4 count works okay, too.

I used the Rock 5 Jungle Toms for my drum track, recording from the headphone jack into my mixer. The twangy guitar you hear is a 2011 Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster in drop d tuning. I used several pickup combinations, including the S-1 switch with the 5-way switch set to position 5. I have never used that setting in a recording before because it is so tinny and nasally. But it kind of worked for a sitar-like sound. The flute sound was created with my 2000 Gary Moore signature Les Paul and an EBow plus model. I constantly switched between the normal setting and the harmonic setting, depending on which string I was using the EBow on. The harmonic setting sounds better on some strings than others. I used a 2012 Rickenbacker 4003 on the bass track, which was also in drop d tuning (something I had never tried before). The Les Paul was in standard tuning.

Banihal Pass is a pass that connects the Kashmir Valley in the Indian state Jammu and Kashmir to the outer Himalaya and plains to the south. Banihal means “blizzard” in the Kashmiri language. I just thought it fit the vibe of the song.

The video is just a video capture of a Winamp visualization while the song was playing. Trip out!

Very creative. I like the depth you achieved with the guitars. Nice, smooth transitions. Did you use your fingers instead of picks in a lot of places in this creation? Sounds like it. I like the sounds of the E-bow also. Always wanted one, never bought it. I always used a muffled distortion sound with a volume pedal to create the swells for violin sounds. Worked for me. You have created a very nice sound with lots of depth and feeling. Welcome to the professional world of music.
Sincerely, Fingerstylepicker.