Playing live with BeatBuddy

I became intrigued with the BeatBuddy after playing with a drummer, but not finding anyone else to regularly play with. I found a drummer and guitarist/vocalist could do some stuff, but I wasn’t satisfied because as a musician I want to play SONGS. I don’t want to jam partial songs, or blues beats, or anything like that. After splurging and getting the BeatBuddy, it was a novelty in my guitar rig, basically being the same thing I had before: guitar and drums. So the shows I played were me with vocals and a dual guitar which could do acoustic and electric at the same time. I added a TC Helicon H1 Harmony pedal to give me some extra voices occasionally. After much research, and time spent, and Guitar Stu’s brainstorm to make drums+bass midi beats, I’m now obsessed with using the BeatBuddy as a backup band.

We’ve all heard the acoustic patio guy who plays songs on an acoustic and sings… I wanted to be more. Now with this I can play electric and acoustic guitar, sing, with harmony, and have bass and drum loops from the BeatBuddy to play a whole band experience.

Largely, the reviews have been very positive. Where I play they love having complete rock songs, or complete country songs, etc.

Being able to have basslines made a total difference. Thanks @Guitar Stu !!

i’m sure playing along with tracks isn’t a new thing. I hear words like “Ableton” but not sure what that means just yet :slight_smile:

I realize people don’t really enjoy someone singing along with a karaoke track as much as a live performance, but i’m hoping with one or two tweaks to the BeatBuddy, it will totally transcend the difference between those two worlds: a default “order”, and the ability to change that order on the fly.