Power Supply Questions

Hey there folks,

I’m new to BeatBuddy and of course, this forum so hello from England.

I’m going to put my BeatBuddy on a pedal board. I’ve been using it with its own power supply so far. The original BeatBuddy power supply is 9volts DC and 500ma.

The pedal board power supply I’m going to order does either 9 volts DC or 12 volts DC and limited to 100ma on each outlet. In fact, so far I’ve not found a good quality PSU that also would have a 9 volts 500ma outlet!

The last PSU I ordered which had a 500ma outlet worked great with the BeatBuddy but Buzzed like hell when connected to my Boss Looper and Tuner!

So I’m wondering:

1. Can a BeatBuddy be connected to a 12 volt supply?
  2. Also, does it need 500ma to drive it or would there be enough power to drive it if it’s connected to a 9volts 100ma power outlet like most pedals?
  3. Any recommendation on Pedal Board PSU that’s not going to break the bank and is BUZZ free?

Cheers
Ed

• Do not use anything above 9v. You will damage your pedal.
  • It should have 500mA but you might be able to use 300-500mA from an isolated port PSU (no daisy chain type pedal as several—but not all—users report having noise issues with their BeatBuddy; this is probably due to the lack of isolation).
  • A Strymon Ojai will do the job though but it might be more than you want to pay.

Some users reported problems getting a reliable electrical connection from the power connecting jacks. Quite a bit written about this on the forum.

This probably is not what you want to hear, but for consistent performance from your BB pedal, best to use the power supply that came with it.

Thanks for the response PERSIST, I really appreciate it. I found a Truetone brick PSU which is not cheap but not too expensive either for £114 which is About $150 US that’ll give me the current it needs from one of the outlets and it’s an isolated PSU which means hopefully that it’ll be Buzz free.