Professional Quality MIDI File Downloads

Hi everyone, I’m new here. Hope I’m posting in the right category.

I’m a professional musician and I use MIDI files for backing tracks live. I recently did a cruise ship gig that was both pop music and jazz standards depending on the venue. If anyone is looking for professional quality MIDI files to download for free, check out https://midifilesdownload.com . The site has a huge jazz MIDI file collection as well as lots of other musical styles, rock, R&B and more. Quite a lot of my backing tracks came from this site. The MIDI files will require editing to your needs of course but it is a great place to start. If you’re looking to download MIDI files for a cruise ship gig, this is the place. Helped me out tremendously. Hope this helps someone else too!

6 Likes

Thanks. I was just on a cruise last week where a duo used tracks. He played piano and she sang. They were both very talented. I have used live looping forever and have played on some smaller ships for American Cruise Lines as a duo with my wife. The trend seems to be to use tracks. How was the experience? We have been debating whether we want to go down the tracks path…thanks for the link.

MIDI backing tracks for cruise ship gigs is the way to go especially if you’re doing jazz. Loopers just don’t cut it IMHO and I have never seen any cruise ship performers using one.

Yes, I can see that. There was a solo acoustic guy that played pop songs with a looper on the ship (NCL)…but the majority I have seen are track based too. Thanks again for the info.

Personally, I can only handle listening to a loop for a tune or two then I lose interest. As a seasoned jazz musician, a few measures of repeating motifs just doesn’t cut it for me and it doesn’t engage the listeners very well either.