Sample live video with BB

So my wife and I have been playing as an acoustic duo for about 5 years now and since lockdowns etc started last year i started to look at how we could incorporate the BB into out gigs. After much learning with programming using the BB Manager, adding bass notes, composing in Cubase and importing etc we are starting to get things where we want them thanks to invaluable help from various people on these forums including @Phil_Flood , @Phil and @persist just to name a few. Thanks guys.

So anyway, we started looking at making our own promo video so did some test shooting and recording and this video is a result of that. The drumset Iā€™m using is a somewhat hybrid compilation of various kits iā€™ve played with along the way. I then panned the bass and drumkit using Cubase to i could run them into the mixer separately. We are running into a Behringer XR18 digital mixer and multi-tracked straight into the controlling iPad using Cubasis 2.

Iā€™m still trying to get a drum sound that doesnā€™t sound like a ā€˜drum machineā€™ through the mixer live but no luck yet.

Hope you enjoy and any criticism or tips are always appreciated.

9 Likes

For those wanting some more info, on my pedal board Iā€™m running through a Line6 HX Stomp as I use both acoustic and electric straight to the mixer. Thereā€™s a Aeros Loop Studio on there as well. And of course the BB and switch. There is a BOSS EQ pedal as well but this is only if I use my stomp box which I run through that.

Becā€™s vocals also run through a TC Helicon Harmony Singer 2 pedal.

For the video we used a Canon SLR camera for the wide shot and 2 x iPhones either side of us for the close ups. Unfortunately we forgot to put the phones set for portrait and thatā€™s why they are cropped in so much. As I said it was a test so that will be corrected next time.

1 Like

This sounds excellent - did you program the entire drum loops yourself ā€¦ very natural sounding ā€¦ brilliant job :+1:

1 Like