Sobriety level question

Hi all, I am a bassist looking for a drum machine for, at least initially, practise. I’m very keen on the beat buddy pedals, at least the online videos I’ve seen lead me to believe they would fit my needs.

The sobriety level function looks like a great practice tool but is this available on the beat buddy mini 2 or just the main beat buddy pedal?

Thanking you in advance for your help.

Billy

I think it’s only available on the big BeatBuddy.

Honestly, the Sobriety function is not overly useful unless you’re just looking for a challenging exercise to follow a REALLY faulty drum beat. The levels essentially go from sober to well past tipsy. I actually would not mind experimenting with timing that was a little loose, but the first level of non-sober is about four beers past that point, and it gets worse from there.

I believe SS added it as a bit of a joke – and it was funny. What are you hoping to accomplish with it?

1 Like

I was thinking the other day… That mode definitely won’t work well with the Aeros… I prefer to keep my pedal sober anyways…

This was a much more important feature than working on the BB Manager. :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

Here a link to a great video which explains it all :wink:

Drunken drummer

1 Like

The plan was to practise alongside a drum machine but one that was ‘human’ and not in perfect time constantly. Judging by your post though, the sobriety level function on the beat buddy won’t give me that.

Thanks for taking the time to reply to my post

Great video and I know n ow that this isn’t what I was expecting or need.

hillbilly, if you can get good at practicing along with the Beatbuddy’s perfect beats, you’ll have no problem jamming along with real people when the time comes… You’ll probably be one of the ones with the best sense of timing…