Speaker for beatBuddy? Can I use a mainstrame speaker?(bose, sonos...)

I tried using my bose speaker but the sound is NOT loud. Even the acoustic guitar sounds louder than the beatbuddy, then I tried with an amp (Blackstar 10watts) connected through the aux port, but the electric guitar sounds louder than the beat buddy. I read about using PA systems but I’m just a bedroom musician who wants something:

1. small and loud enough so I can hear the beats.
  2. that I can connect guitar & BB at the same time… What’s your recommendation?
    I was thinking ZT lunchbox…thoughts?

Because the BeatBuddy pedal is not amplified, you should use powered speakers (can’t tell from your post if you are using active or passive Bose speakers). Although a guitar amplifier/combo will work, it will not give you the full range that makes the BeatBuddy sound at its best.

For powered speakers, I’ve plugged in a small pair of computer speakers into the pedal headphone jack. Right now I’m using a small set of powered Mackie speakers and they sound great.

If you want an all-in-one set up, you can use a small keyboard amplifier for both your guitar and your BeatBuddy.

The output from the BeatBuddy is plenty loud for ‘industry standard’ for both the headphone output and the pedal output so the getting a good signal out of the pedal isn’t the issue unless you have a bad pedal. You need to choose a speaker designed for one of those signal levels.

A good friend uses a small Bose speaker fed by his iPhone to provide accompaniment when he plays clarinet in small public settings. He uses the headphone jack to feed the Bose. There are plenty of other small powered speaker options that work with headphone-level output