Starting in time

Howzit all you musicians out there…

Just an introduction:

I have been a professional muso for the last 25 years and have played gigs from 10 to 10 000 people over the years.(Yes I know, I must have done something seriously wrong in a past life. Hehe.)

The first 20 years I played solo and duos with midi backing tracks, but about 5 years ago I went back to my roots and now play in a 3-piece (Bass, drums and guitar) blues/rock band. I do vocals and guitar.

I ordered my BeatBuddy mainly for smaller gigs where it’s not financially viable to have a drummer as well.

As far as I know I’m the first musician here in Cape Town, South Africa, to own a BeatBuddy. (Mostly because we’re a bit behind the times and it’s unfortunately very expensive here with our weak currency.) I have literally been looking for something like the BeatBuddy for years, and think it’s the best thing since sliced bread, apart from one thing…

I received my BeatBuddy last Thursday and did my first gig with it on Sunday night. We were loose like a 2-dollar hooker but I’ll get it soon. (Hehe.)
However, after the first gig I found the biggest chink in it’s armour. (In my very humble opinion)

So… To business:

The way I see it, it’s all about only one thing. The first beat of the song…

1. When the pedal’s “SETTINGS – MAIN PEDAL – START BEAT” is set to RELEASE… It’s virtually impossible (for me) to come in on time if the drums comes in after the rest of the band.

2. When the pedal’s “SETTINGS – MAIN PEDAL – START BEAT” is set to PRESS… The problem goes away… However. Now the problem becomes: "When I finish the song on a PAUSE”,

I can no longer advance to the next song silently. I have to stop the song first with a double tap, which makes a loud noise that’s very irritating for the punters at the show and myself.

I found a temporary solution here from 8daypsalmist:

http://forum.mybeatbuddy.com/index.php?threads/start-beat-on-press-rather-than-release-main-pedal.5224/