Total newbie. Just purchased a Beat Buddy. Some questions.

Hi Everyone,

I’m really excited to start with the Beat Buddy although since reading this forum and watching videos, I’m realizing that this endeavor is going to be way more complicated than I originally thought. Here’s what I want to do and what I’m working with. The main thing I want to do is to sync the Beat Buddy with my TC Helicon VoiceLive 3. Part of the reason I bought the Beat Buddy is that I couldn’t do this with my Boss Dr 770, even with the help of a ‘MIDI Solutions MIDI Delay’ pedal which helps sync two devices up. I would get them perfectly synced up (you program the MIDI Delay on your computer to delay the Drum machine a certain amount so that they are in sync), but then a few moments later they would be off again. No matter what I tried, I couldn’t get it to stick. So, I bought the Beat Buddy to do this but also because this seems like a great product. So, my questions are: 1) Will I be able to sync the beat Buddy with my VL 3 AND do you think I will need the MIDI Delay pedal to accomplish this. 2) I use a Mac but do have access to a PC. Would you recommend that I just use my Mac or begin with the PC and move to the Mac when the issues with the Mac software are sorted out, and would that (going from PC to Mac) cause any problems? 3) I thought this was going to be a bit like ‘plug and play’ but in reading the forum, I can see that there is a lot of work to do when it comes to importing samples, programming songs, etc. Can someone suggest a couple of good links to learn about this.
I know that these are a lot of questions but any help is greatly appreciated!!

All the best,

Nagesh

Well, as far as I can understand your problem, you needed the MIDI delay pedal to help offset the fact that Boss pedals are known to be pretty faulty at MIDI sync’ing. You should be able to connect BeatBuddy to your VL 3 without such a device.