Using BB with Currently Available (Mid 2022) Loopers

Hi -

I have some questions regarding using the BeatBuddy with a looper pedal. Please excuse any duplication with existing threads, but some of those threads are old and don’t seem to reflect looper offerings currently on the market. Please also excuse the long post.

I’m still fairly new to BeatBuddy, and am using it for gigging on guitar along with a vocalist. I have an old looper pedal (Boss RC-2) that I use for chords/basslines, and I’m considering upgrading to something newer. I’m interested in something simpler and less expensive than the Aeros, but with MIDI functionality/ability to synchronize with the BB. In addition to a few specific questions (below), I’d appreciate general thoughts/observations from others that have gone down the road of using BB with a looper.

1. I understand BB works best with a looper (using MIDI) when BB is used as the master. If set up that way, can ending a tune on the BB automatically stop the looper from playing? Will that work with an outro on the BB?

2. I’m planning to do my looping in real time (recording live at the start of tunes rather than using pre-recorded loops). My timing on the looper pedal is good but not perfect (with inaccuracy typically occurring when I stop recording a loop). Any inaccuracy is multiplied with each successive loop, and the problem is most apparent where the loops are relatively short. For example, if I loop chords or basslines for a short form tune (such as a 12 bar blues) on my current pedal and then play over it/have vocalist sing over it/etc., after several minutes (if not sooner) the chords/basslines are noticeably out of sync with the drum beats from the BB. Can that issue be remedied by synchronizing the looper and BB on MIDI – in other words, can the looper be configured to start and/or stop loops on exactly a “1” beat (for example) even if my taps are slightly off?