What's the easiest--but good--MIDI editing software to work with?

Hi Folks, Andy the Newbie again! I learning loads about the Beat Buddy thanks to all you! Now I need your recommendations about MIDI software for someone who knows NOTHING about MIDI! (I’m a guitarist for the last 40 years–what’s MIDI??? LMAO!),

Thank you for your constant help and patience!!

Have a wonderful day!!!

Do you want to edit the midi files in the songs or midi command the BB?

There’s a free midi editor available on this forum called Beat Builder that works well. The beta BBManager has a built in editor that’s even better. Those will allow you to edit the midi song files.

Thank you, Rob22315!

…for both thoughts!!

I’m not sure WHAT I want to do! LOL!

I’m trying to 1) transpose the key of some songs graciously uploaded by the talented folks on this forum and 2) be able to create and edit my own songs and, hopefully one day, be able to be a contributing member of this forum.

Albeit, I am COMPLETELY ignorant about MIDI! But, I can certainly learn…it may just take me a while! LOL!

I have requested the Beta BBManger from Support. Hopefully, they will accommodate my request.

Thanks again and have a wonderful day!

MIDI in the BB are commands - small bits of info that tell the BB to do something. For the MIDI parts of the song files, those commands tell the BB to play pre-recorded snippets of drums at a certain time and volume. You can edit those by opening up the midi files for the loops, transitions, and fills associated with a BB song.

For features in the BB, those commands (aka MIDI-IN) tell the BB to start, stop, play fill, play transition etc. The features commands are generated externally to the BB by a midi controller. I just bought some hardware (puc+) and software (midipad) that allow my iPhone to command the BB.