Why DOP, OPB ... ?

Hi all

First of all thanks to all contributors and I do not intend to criticize anyone in any case.

However I am frustrated with what I find most of the time. For info I am a new user of this fantastic tool.
I understand that sometimes it might help to have one track (DOP, OPB, …) for the whole song but it turns the BB into a basic midi file reader.

I would rather prefer having all features separated (into, outro, fills, …) so I could personalize my play and really use the pedal for what it has been designed.
I was only able to find a limited number of songs using this format. Maybe they are named differently?

Thanks for your support

Phil

Welcome to the great philosophical debate about OPB vs default format. Great question and I don’t take it as criticism. I initially had the same reaction when starting out with the BeatBuddy—it’s so much more than just a karaoke tool. And then I started learning how to transcribe MIDI source files and found out that doing so for the BeatBuddy in a traditional song format is not as easy as it sounds. I provide one-press songs because it is much simpler to do so. In many cases, it already takes quite a bit of effort to transcribe a MIDI source file into an OPB song. I don’t have the time and I lack the skills to break a source file down into the more traditional Intro-verse-chorus-bridge-outro format. Making matters even more challenging is that the source files I find and use don’t always lend themselves to being easily broken down into that format. If I sequenced my own MIDI source songs maybe it would be easier.

Guitar Stu and a few others tailor their efforts to suit their own performing requirements but he doesn’t normally take requests. He has shared some of his efforts though and you can find them here on the forum.