Beat Buddy output

Hi all.
Does anybody know the Beat Buddy’s correct output specifications and how would I measure them? (I’m a musician not a techo whizz) Reason for the question? At last night’s gig we had to crank the hell out of the BB input gain on the mixer to get a decent volume - which we hadn’t had to do before. Just trying to work out where to start looking.
Many thanks
John

I don’t know the output specs nor how to measure them. If the volume was acceptable before last night’s gig, there may have been some connectivity issues. Isolate and eliminate potential sources—some things to check:

• Correct TS patch cables (not TRS or speaker cables); substitute different patch cables to test
  • Check that the patch cables are working and that they are fully seated in the pedal and to the mixer or PA
  • If you are using custom-created drum sets, some kits require both left and right output cables to get both left and right channels delivering full audio
  • Volume controls on the BeatBuddy (BB) pedal are properly set
  • Using the correct power adaptor for the pedal

Sometimes it’s just the oddest little things that can happen, for example, see this post: BeatBuddy - problems with audio dropping out

That’s about all I can think of right now. Let us know what you discover and how you fixed it.

Does the mixer used have a ‘PAD’ switch on the channel that was used? :thinking: :slightly_smiling_face:

Here are some ideas/pointed questions:

• Were you plugging into a Balanced input?
  • Anything with stereo to mono phase cancelation?
  • Does the mixer have padding (or other settings) enabled?
  • Which output(s) did you use? L, R, Phones?

Did cranking the level work? If that works, do you really care why? Might be simpler to adapt than to figure it out. Life is short (unless this might cause you grief in some other situation).