Can I place the Aeros AFTER an amplifier?

Don’t have the Aeros yet but I have a question about it: I’m a guitarist. I’d like to go guitar into pedalboard into amp. I want to use the Aeros and songs with several tracks etc. But how do I go through the amp? I don’t want to miss the sound of the amp. If I move the tracks from the SD card in the Aeros to the computer, and the Aeros is the last part of the signal chain on my pedalboard, then I’d have to use some sort of amp-in-a-box-pedal before the Aeros, would I not? Would I be able to somehow place the Aeros after my amp and then transfer the tracks to my daw? Or am I just not getting something obvious here?

Hey there, unfortunately, no you cannot have the Aeros after the amp, this would be too hot a signal for the Aeros to record well.

You essentially would need an amp-in-a-box solution to handle this in the way you are describing, or you could Mic your amp output, but you would need a way to connect Mic to Aeros (like a small pre-amp) and there is the issue of progressively louder noise floor depending on the room noise when recording.

Thanks for the question!

12:14 into that video he says the Aeros can be used after the amp and it’s his favorite way to use the Aeros. Conflicting answers here :smiley:

The person in the video is describing putting the Aeros after the guitar amplifier’s “pre-amplifier” but before the guitar amplifier’s “power amplifier.” Placing the Aeros after the power amplifier would not work.

He says to put it either in the amplifier’s effects loop or after the headphone or record output. All of those outputs are after the guitar amplifier’s pre-amp but before power amp.

If your amp doesn’t have an effects loop output or headphone output or record output then you can’t use your amp as he describes.

Effects loops are not recommended for anything other than for time-based effects, the best place to have it for audio fidelity will be before the Amps input