How to end a drum fill/transition with a Cymbal crash to start the next song part

I am new to BB but I am a drummer of 35 years, and normally a new song part (Chorus or Verse) coming out of a fill or transition has a cymbal crash{Accent) on the first beat of the new measure. I cannot figure out how to do this on a new beat in the BB manager editor or BeatBuilder so it is at the right timing. If you make a 5/4 measure to do this, it will throw the whole song off. Is the only way to do this is manually adding accents with a footswitch on the fly. If you listen to the fills and transitions on the default beats, it is there , but if you look at them in the editor you can see they were recorded live due to note placement. Seems there should be an option on the pedal to place an accent automatically at the beginning of a new song part as that is the standard for drums.

Is there a way to do this or am I missing something?

Thanks,Michael

I am surprised nobody else has had this issue as this is pretty standard practice for real drumming. More often than not a new song part starts with a cymbal and bass drum on the first beat coming out of a fill or transition.

The way I do it in BBM. Say your part is 4 measures long. I extend that part to 5 measures add the cymbal and bass drum hit on the first beat of the fifth measure. play it in BBM to test it. then drop the part back down to 4 measures. play it again to make sure it still plays the cymbal and bass hit. For some reason even through the part is cut to 4 measures BB still plays the first beat of the fifth measure as it gos into the next part. Hope that makes sense.

1 Like

I hear 'ya but I don’t know how many BeatBuddy owners are active or former drummers. Me? I bought the pedal because I’m not a drummer and am happy with the capabilities that have been provided. Guess I didn’t know what I was missing until you brought it up :).