I dont get it

so I’m new to beat buddy trying to decide if I’m going to stick with it or return it, and in reading through the threads there are a couple of things I’m not getting. For example this one press play and bass. I’m trying to figure out why the users are trying to make beat buddy what its not…to my understanding it’s supposed to be a interactive drum machine you play with your feet. It seems most here want it to play bass and other instruments and not be interactive, what gives? Also there’s a insert in the BB packaging that state something like if you can think it you can play it. I’ve read a post from the makers that it’s not a composition tool. This seems directly opposite of what their documentation states. It seems on both end we have users trying to make the BB what it’s not and the other end BB is not living up to its promises. Can someone here explain this to me? Thanks.

I’m not a big fan of the one-press stuff either…
I prefer to be able to switch parts when I want… which is exactly what it was made for and what it CAN do if that’s what you want…
The cool thing about some electronics is that people figure out ways to make it do what they want even if it wasn’t intentionally designed that way…
If people want to use it as a backing track player, that’s up to them… There’s plenty of stuff out there that’s not One-press, you just have to find it amongst all the other stuff… Anything released by Singular Sound is still broken up into parts. I have the full collection as well as a couple packages I bought from Groove Monkey… I haven’t really downloaded much user created stuff since the one-press craze began…

2 Likes

Hey – welcome to the family!

There are lots of (sometimes very strong) opinions on both of your questions, but I’ll take a kick at it and let folks flame me if they must.