Recording with Beat Buddy

I am a relative newbie to recording and have been playing for about 1.5 years.

Right now I record the drum track first then record the guitar track as the drums from the Beat Buddy will take on the effects of my amp.

I am looking for a way to do both at the same time without the Beat Buddy being affected by the amp. I want to be be able to record “live” while I am playing and using the Beat Buddy

I use my computer to record with Abelton.

Would a USB interface be able to do this?

Thanks for any ideas and help!!

It depends on what you are wanting to achieve and what quality. You dont exolain how you are doing it currently but I assume you are using the line in on your PC, do you have a mixer? If you have a stereo input you could record left channel BB, right channel guitar using a spitter which would give you a mono track. If you want good quality then you will need an A/D converter (often USB) - but as I say, without more information it would be difficult without writting an assay to answer your question.

I record to my computer through my Fender Mustang II V2 amp through the USB out into Abelton software.

When I want to record just the Beat Buddy I plug it into my amp through the mono out on the Beat Budday, turn off all effects and record the drum track for however long I need.

I then unplug the Beat Buddy and plug in my guitar. I then add another aduio track to my Abelton Project and record to that track while the Beat Buddy track plays, I then can just export to a wave file and I have complete track, if I want to add another guitar track I can and I can use the software to push one guitar to the right and one to the left for stereo while keeping the Beat Buddy track centered.

I do not sing so I am just interested in recording instrumentals right now.

I want decent quality on the playback end of things. I do not have a mixer or a D/A converter.