Midi cable to TRS hack

Hi all,
just sharing this little DIY hack if you use midi connection between BB and boss devices with TRS midi in/out.
Initially I bought both cables;

1. BB midi breakout cable,
  2. 5pin midi din to trs from Boss.
    They did work; but something was bugging me.
    I ended up with the long cable mess and big midi connections which took extra space and also added extra weight to the pedalboard.
    I checked everywhere on the net for a simple solution to this but it never existed. so I thought of this hack in my mind.

So I bought a PS/2 connection cable for less than ÂŁ3 (amazon) and couple of good TRS connection plugs for ÂŁ10 (amazon) and soldered them configuring the proper wire connections.
The DIY cable is very light and takes no space at all in the pedalboard. And yes it works like a charm.

Here is the photo of my cable.
peace.

7 Likes

Hello,
Thank you for the photos and comments.
I am new to the world of B.B and I am completely lost, but I am a good handyman.
I have a B.B and
an RC-5, I have already made a midi cable and
2 x 3.5 mm jack but it does not work
but above all I do not know how to make it work.
Do you have the wiring diagram please? and an explanation to test the cable?
Sorry, if there are any mistakes, but I go through a translator because I am French
Many thanks in advance

Here you go…

1 Like

This is how i connect them now after 3.5mm jacks modification… For BB master and RC5 slave…BB “OUT” goes to RC5 “IN”. And vice versa.

Additional info below

Great work, it’s impressive.
Did you remove the PS / 2 plug from the BB?
But as I want to act only on the PS / 2 midi socket of the BB (because of the warranty), I will see that.
I see in the photo that the RC-5 is Hiii DIY.
Thank you for all this info.

The ps2 still exists on my BB and it still works. You can do the cable hack refering to the same connection information shown above. I would avoid the BB modification and save the warranty if your BB is still new.